eCtune Forum Index
 HomeHome  eCtune WikiWiki   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

PRO version multiple cars
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    eCtune Forum Index -> Software Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
calvin
Site Admin
eCtune Authorized Tuner


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 4827
Location: Paramaribo, Suriname

Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: PRO version multiple cars Reply with quote

Guys/Users,

Since a short while we are shutting down people who are not keeping to single car license agreement.

-PRO version: paired to ostrich 1 car only
-PRO version: ostrich remains in car
-PRO version: Taking action to get a binary from eCtune Pro Software/Moates Ostrich/Ecu.
-PRO version: Using ectune on multiple cars
-PRO version: Posting information regarding hacking ectune or defeating copy protection.

If we detected any of the above behavior your license will be disabled without a question.

_________________
Regards,
eCtune Team
eCtune Authorized Tuner
Location: Caribbean & Suriname

aim:calvinPGMFI
skype:ectune

We remote connect to your laptop if you have problems. Best support in the world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
RoadXY



Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 347
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, your supposed to have it paired to one ostrich and to one car?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
butch11a



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 137
Location: Manila, Phil.

Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i first read the title i thought this was a special easter offer hehehe...
_________________
New to eCtune, and still a lot to learn.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Orthello



Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 218
Location: Assen, NL

Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RoadXY wrote:
Huh, your supposed to have it paired to one ostrich and to one car?
Yes. How would you pair it to more then one ostrich without having your license renewed with the new ostrich serial in it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoadXY



Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 347
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant thats what I know but got an wrong idear from the first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sohcd16y8



Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 258
Location: Texas

Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to see that this is getting cracked down on, I would hate to see this turn into another crome or DSM link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
civic4g



Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 187
Location: Porto, Portugal

Post Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Calvin I've a doubt

So let's say that I decide to sell my ek4 (without ectune ecu/rom/ostrich included in the deal) and buy a dc2, you mean that I'll have to buy another PRO license? Can't I just swap the "ectuned" ecu from one car to another?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Gaskleppie
Site Admin
eCtune Authorized Tuner


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 1221
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you do that and you dont want to take any risk, just use the old tune without beginning all over again with a new rom.
Calvin can see the amount of new made bins. If that constantly changes and also the base tune is every time for a different type of engine, he knows enough.

_________________
Regards,
eCtune Team
eCtune Authorized Tuner
Location: The Netherlands
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
relic1



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 188
Location: chicago burbs

Post Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gaskleppie wrote:
Calvin can see the amount of new made bins. If that constantly changes and also the base tune is every time for a different type of engine, he knows enough.

as long as tuning isn't done on that cal, or it's never uploaded I'm ok with that... I'm constantly creating various different cals to help with people on this board when they have problems, or to check my own sanity when I'm working with my car.

Also, "-PRO version: ostrich remains in car"
I think I understand what you mean by this but it leaves some questions in my mind. So to be sure I'm ok... mine doesn't remain in the car, I only have one and I use it to tune other people's cars occasionally... with UD or Crome, not with eCtune. As a result if I'm in the middle of tuning a car and have to drive my car for what ever reason(parts run mainly) a chip makes its way into the ECU. (from Crome)
Plus I run an autoX class that requires a stock ECU (which is OBD2) so my ostrich gets almost as many miles as the car does. But it's never used in a way that should violate eCtune's TOS agreement.

_________________
this is my $0.02, keep in mind that I can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JaredKaragen



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 1486
Location: Bay Area, Ca

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

agreed on all accounts, but I believe he is looking for signs of excessiveness... I myself open up new roms now and then to look at ignition tables and defaults....

I believe he means ostrich in one vehicle only when licensed for eCtune... but... for those doing tuning with the same ostrich using CROME, then I can see the dilemma.

I think this is to keep people from switching from car to car (when multiple cars owned) and other anti-EULA type activities. I myself was astonished people were selling ROMS on ebay..... I emailed him the minute I saw the link.

But, I have a good idea why it has ended up at this point..... and I support him to the best I can. The main link to pyracy on his software is the person with a license on their laptop... so monitoring this is totally acceptable in my opinion.

_________________
95 Sol Si : D16z6 : TD04H-13C
74 Civic 1200 : 100% Stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Orthello



Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 218
Location: Assen, NL

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gaskleppie wrote:
If you do that and you dont want to take any risk, just use the old tune without beginning all over again with a new rom.
Calvin can see the amount of new made bins. If that constantly changes and also the base tune is every time for a different type of engine, he knows enough.

Can you explain me this in detail? How can Calvin see that I started a new rom without beeing connected to the internet?
If eCtune is posting back this kind of information (once I'm back online) I'm having my doubt's about this beeing legal. At least in some countries/states it isn't legal to post back userinfo, without warning them on forehand.

Or did I get you wrong Frank?

If not.... my firewall will be tightened this minute Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DMTune



Joined: 22 Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Location: des moines

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i run ectune on my race car but i also im a tuner here in my hometown so i switch from crome and ectune all the time with the same ostrich.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bugermass
Site Admin
eCtune Authorized Tuner


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 1632
Location: Houston Texas

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Orthello wrote:
Gaskleppie wrote:
If you do that and you dont want to take any risk, just use the old tune without beginning all over again with a new rom.
Calvin can see the amount of new made bins. If that constantly changes and also the base tune is every time for a different type of engine, he knows enough.

Can you explain me this in detail? How can Calvin see that I started a new rom without beeing connected to the internet?
If eCtune is posting back this kind of information (once I'm back online) I'm having my doubt's about this beeing legal. At least in some countries/states it isn't legal to post back userinfo, without warning them on forehand.

Or did I get you wrong Frank?

If not.... my firewall will be tightened this minute Exclamation


did you read your liscense agreement ??

_________________
Chris Delgado
Tun'd Performance
Houston Texas
713-962-8262
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
relic1



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 188
Location: chicago burbs

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Orthello wrote:
If not.... my firewall will be tightened this minute Exclamation

no offense but this makes you sound guilty as hell. Confused

and mainly...
Bugermass wrote:
did you read your license agreement ??

_________________
this is my $0.02, keep in mind that I can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
civic4g



Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 187
Location: Porto, Portugal

Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really like eCtune, it's my tuning solution of choice and have recommended it to several people in several foruns but all this issues and doubts with licensing is really a weak point.

I know and understand the concerns of Calvin but this all would make more sense if it was "1 license per ecu" instead of "1 license per car", our major competitor is working with "per ecu system" and don't hear them complain.

Now you can say that we don't are like competitors that we are better (and we are) and for that reason we need a different and tight licensing system, I agree with that but things how they are right now are a mess

(i'm just talking about license agreement/text, i've nothing against eCtune being tied to machine id and ostrich/demon)

just my 0.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    eCtune Forum Index -> Software Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


eCtune topic RSS feed 
Forum FAQForum FAQ
Powered by phpBB Styles © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group .